Search Archives 

In Focus

Walworth County TBI Policy Town Hall Scheduled, March 19

by Bill Stephens

WHITEWATER, WI – Prominent Wisconsin lawmakers will be featured panelists for a town hall meeting on Brain Injury Policy at the City Council Chamber in Whitewater on Tuesday, March 19 at 3:00 p.m. March is Brain Injury Awareness Month.

Senator Janis Ringhand, Senator Steve Nass and State Representative Don Vruwink have confirmed with Metro News they will be in attendance. Life Beyond Brain Injury, a group founded by UW-Whitewater students and alumni, is organizing the event as part of their Brain Injury Policy Day activities. The group of college interns is also sponsoring other activities throughout the area to educate the public about the short and long-term impacts of traumatic brain injuries.

Hannah Maes, a UW-Whitewater Marketing major, hopes this event can be used to raise awareness and save lives. “We've all heard when it comes to brain injuries, time lost is brain lost,” Maes said. “Delays in care can be fatal.”

Logan McHone, a UW-Whitewater senior Communication major, sees cause for optimism in the upcoming town hall meeting. “There is so much misinformation about traumatic brain injuries and I’m excited that lawmakers are showing interest in the issue and discussing policy solutions,” McHone said.

The location for the meeting is at the City Council Chambers, 312 West Whitewater Street, in Whitewater, Wisconsin. The meeting is scheduled to be televised and a question and answer period for attendees to participate will be available as time permits. The Town Hall Meeting is open to the public. Everyone of all ages is invited and encouraged to attend.

For more information about this event, please call (262) 458-4090 or visit the groups website for further details. In a press release, the group stated, “This is not a fundraising effort for any group or person. This is for information and educational purposes only.”

This article Copyright ©2019 Metro News Network & Affiliates – All rights reserved.

Photos (Left to Right):

  • WI Senator Janis Ringhand

  • WI Senator Steven Nass

  • WI Assemblyman Don Vruwink